Skip to main content

Discovering Plant Medicine

Every day, we learn more and more about this magical plant. While it could take decades to understand it on an expert level, the basics are a great place to start for consumers and caregivers. We know state laws can be tricky, too, so we’ve included important information specific to Vermont. All of the topics discussed here are for adults aged 21 years and older. Enjoy responsibly!
Can anyone buy cannabis in Vermont?
Adults from any state, 21 years and older, can purchase cannabis in the State of Vermont with a valid ID. Unlike some states, which only allow residents to purchase cannabis through a medical program, Vermont allows both medical and adult recreational consumers to purchase cannabis.
Is there a difference between medical and recreational cannabis?
No! Cannabis is cannabis. THC is THC. The difference is technically in you. Without getting too technical, some dispensaries suggest that higher-dosed products are better for medical patients who require more frequent uses and higher doses. However, that doesn’t mean a recreational consumer won’t find benefit in buying the same product. In most cases, for consumers who are just starting their journey with cannabis and aren’t targeting intense pain, but are looking for an uplifting experience, lower-dosed – or micro-dosed – products are a great entry point.
How much cannabis can I carry on me in Vermont?
Adults can possess up to one ounce of cannabis at a time.
Is there a special way I should store my cannabis when I’m driving?
To ensure you and your passengers are safe, put your purchase in the trunk of your vehicle before leaving the dispensary or when driving with it in your vehicle.
Can I bring my purchase across State lines?
Cannabis is not yet federally legal, which means that the state laws of Vermont do not apply to neighboring states. We suggest you consume what you purchase within the borders of the state to stay within your legal rights and prevent possible legal issues.
Can I grow my own cannabis in Vermont?
Yes! Adults can grow two mature plants and possess four immature plants for medical or adult recreational use.
Can I smoke wherever I want?
Unfortunately, there are still rules around where you can consume cannabis. Public places are currently off-limits in the state of Vermont, which means that you’ll have to find a private place or residence to consume it.
If I consume products that contain THC, will it show up on a drug test?
Yes, THC will show up on a drug test. If your employer, school, or some other governing body of an organization you work with requires that you pass a drug screen, we do not recommend consuming cannabis, as it will show a positive result for the cannabinoids present.
What is a standard starting dose for new consumers?
Everybody, and every body, is different. That means your dose will not be the same as everyone else’s. However, a recommended standard starting dose – with the intention of discovering your personal tolerance levels- is between 2-3mg. As you understand your body’s preferences, you can slowly begin to titrate your dose (or increase it slowly) in 1mg increments at a time.
Is CBD psychoactive like THC?
No, CBD is a very mild cannabinoid. Unless you consume a large amount of CBD, you won’t feel the typical sensations of feeling high like you do with THC.
Does GMCW deliver cannabis?
We do not currently deliver; however, you can order online for quick pick-up.